Call Today 979.200.4746
Skilled Legal Team Qualified and prepared to take on your case.

Juvenile Defense Lawyers in Brazoria County

Serving Clients in Angleton, Pearland, & The Greater Houston Metropolitan Area

In the state of Texas, juveniles are defined as individuals who are 11 to 17 years old. Criminal cases involving juveniles are prosecuted differently than typical criminal cases involving adults. Our team of criminal defense lawyers at Crenshaw & Purvis understands the juvenile legal process and is dedicated to helping you and your family during this challenging and stressful time.


Some of the most common juvenile crimes committed include:

  • Vandalism and charges stemming from graffiti
  • Petty theft, such as shoplifting
  • Assault
  • Charges stemming from underage drinking
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Possession of marijuana
  • Curfew violations
  • Crimes related to school discipline
  • Traffic violations
  • Harassment charges, including bullying
  • Burglary
  • Loitering
  • Possession of a weapon


Curfew hours are 11 p.m. until 6 a.m. Sunday night through Thursday night, and 12:01 a.m. until 6 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday. Usually, juveniles will get warnings and the officers escort them back home, but sometimes it is necessary to issue citations, according to police officials.

A Juvenile Criminal Record Is Not Automatically Sealed

Contrary to popular belief, juvenile crimes are not always sealed from your record. This could be highly damaging to individuals who made a mistake as a teenager and are looking to get a job later in life. At Crenshaw & Purvis, we believe that everyone deserves a second chance. A mistake that was made during the confusing time of adolescence shouldn't have far-reaching negative effects on your future.

Can a minor be questioned without a parent present in Texas?

The law does not need a parent or guardian to be present when officers interrogate a child in custody at a juvenile processing office, but if a parent asks to be present, the parent can be present.

How long can a juvenile be detained in Texas?

For other serious offenders, a juvenile to be confined up to 40 years, first in a Texas Juvenile Justice Division facility, followed by an optional court transfer to prison.

Advocating for Your Child's Future

When it comes to your family, we want to ensure that your child's rights are fully protected. Oftentimes, the justice system tends to treat juveniles as criminals just because they made a simple mistake. Furthermore, undercover cops at schools are actively looking for students who are breaking the law, rarely giving them the opportunity to make amends. This makes for situations where a simple mistake that many of us made when we were teenagers potentially lead to fines and juvenile detention.

To learn how our juvenile defense attorneys in Brazoria County can help you, call us today at (979) 200-4746.

Why Should You Hire Crenshaw & Purvis?

  • Over 55 Years of Combined Experience

  • Established Track Record of Proven Success

  • Focused Practice on Criminal Defense and DWI

  • Honest, Knowledgeable, Professional Representation

Contact Us Today!

Hear back from one of our premier attorneys directly.
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.